Glencoe Memorial Day Ceremony 2017-05-19T17:01:45+00:00

Glencoe Memorial Day Ceremony

Please join the Village of Glencoe and the Glencoe Historical Society as we honor all of the Glencoe residents who have died in service of our country.  The annual ceremony will be held in Veteran’s Memorial Park located just east of the train station, next to the Glencoe Union Church at 11:00 a.m. on Monday, May 29, 2017.

This year marks the 100th anniversary of America’s entry into World War I.  Our ceremony this year will focus on the stories of the five men from Glencoe who lost their lives in the Great War.  For many years, their names have been read at our program of remembrance.  As a result of the GHS’s new research for our upcoming World War I exhibit, we can, for the first time, tell the community more about the stories of the service and sacrifice of these men.   We will also read the Glencoe Roll of Honor and remember the fallen soldiers from World War II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War.

James A. Garfield, who later became President of the United Staes, spoke at Arlington National Cemetery on the first Memorial Day (then called Decoration Day) in May of 1868 and his words still ring true today:

We do not know one promise these men made, one pledge they gave, one word they spoke but we do know they summed up and perfected, by one supreme act, the highest virtues of men and citizens. For love of country they accepted death, and thus resolved all doubts, and made immortal their patriotism and their virtue.

Glencoe Roll of Honor


George Brandenburg
Leon Bullard
Marinus Christensen
Norman Hillock
Kenneth MacLeish


Basil Wilfred Andrews
Frank Crane Baer
William F. Baumann
George Joseph Beinlich, Jr.
Gilbert Clarence Bills
Edward Joseph Brockman
Roger Bartlett Brown
Thomas P. Chavis
Alan Lippett David
Foster Miller Fargo
Benjamin H. Goodman, Jr.
Francis G. Grosse
Donald Frederick Hamley
Martin Charles Helke
John Powers Hicks
Jack Kirschbraum
Donald Kraus
Robert Bandent Long
Edward B. Lott
Philip McNulty II
James Harrington
John Pendergast
Ian Fraser Preston
Robert D. Robertson
Lawrence E. Teich
Lee W. Walker, Jr.
John Jasper Yowell, Jr.


Clifton H. Stowers, Jr.
Jack Workman


Robert Varick